Executive orders

3 posters

Go down

Executive orders Empty Executive orders

Post by Dave58 Fri Jul 24, 2020 8:18 pm

If the Governor signs an executive order mandating that a mask be worn before you can enter a store are the police obligated to help enforce that order or can they refuse and ignore the order ???

Sorry i don't understand how this works...

Dave58

Back to top Go down

Executive orders Empty Re: Executive orders

Post by Blondie Fri Jul 24, 2020 9:04 pm

As a former cop, I'll say there's usually better things to do.

That said, it's usually up to the discretion of local departments. Here in MI, several Sheriffs said they will not enforce the govenor's mask order. It's likely a minor misdemeanor meaning you'd get a ticket. Unless you morph into a full blown idiot who wants to go to jail.

If you want to be a PITA you could always go into court before a judge who doesn't want to hear a garbage case, anyway.

Blondie

Dave58 likes this post

Back to top Go down

Post by Dave58 Fri Jul 24, 2020 10:09 pm

Blondie wrote:As a former cop, I'll say there's usually better things to do.

That said, it's usually up to the discretion of local departments. Here in MI, several Sheriffs said they will not enforce the govenor's mask order.  It's likely a minor misdemeanor meaning you'd get a ticket. Unless you morph into a full blown idiot who wants to go to jail.

If you want to be a PITA you could always go into court before a judge who doesn't want to hear a garbage case, anyway.

Thanks

Dave58

Back to top Go down

Post by rick1 Fri Jul 24, 2020 11:57 pm

Dave58 wrote:If the Governor signs an executive order mandating that a mask be worn before you can enter a store are the police obligated to help enforce that order or can they refuse and ignore the order ???